Future of tourism: ecological?

37-enorme-male-orang-outangThe World Tourism Organization (UNWTO/OMT), a specialized agency of the United ‎Nations and the leading international organization in the field of tourism, estimates that tourism is today responsible for 5% of greenhouse gas emissions and that the situation will get worse if we don’t change our traveling habits. 1.1 billion travelers will cross the planet in 2010; 1.6 by 2020. It is now a priority to travel differently. But how?

First of all, get used to the idea that there is no ideal eco-traveler, just because taking the plane has a very negative impact on global warming. Should we stop taking the plane? Of course not. Tourism and leisure are crucial in our stressful lives to open our minds and hearts and very important for local economies. But we can improve the way we travel and become more sustainable.

The first tip to becoming a better eco-traveler is to choose modern companies with recent aircrafts. My second tip is to calculate your carbon emissions. For example, I have calculated my carbon emissions for a return flight from Paris to Kuala Lumpur (check out http://www.carbonify.com/carbon-calculator.htm). My result: 1.810 ton. Equivalent to 16,000 km driven with my car or two years of heat for my apartment in France!

 

Don't ask us what we were doing in the tree!
Don’t ask us what we were doing in the tree!

To offset your carbon emissions, you can sponsor tree plantings (5,820 trees is my price to pay to visit my in-laws in Malaysia) or choose to sponsor another sustainable development program.

My third tip is to take your time and stop running. Before going overseas, prepare your journey by choosing eco-friendly tour operators, try to avoid the busiest sites and search less known places in order to balance the tourism geographical repartition around the globe.

And last but not least, help preserve the environment by visiting natural parks, eco museums, don’t buy any protected species, reduce air con in your room, water wasting etc etc…

Most of all, don’t give up, start with what you can, every detail matters in becoming a responsible tourist!

(Green) Frog.

tt-twitter-micro32

5 thoughts on “Future of tourism: ecological?

  1. so right ! thanx for this excellent post! in order to be less “anxiogen” and showing we can still travel and have good time with luxury goods, you are welcome Zatasha & Aubry to the first Sustainable Luxury Fair at Palais de Tokyo in Paris (15th to 17th of April) and you can be my guests at the opening and private party (14th). pleasure for me

  2. Merci Cecile pour ce commentaire! Nous sommes ravis de vous avoir comme visiteur et sommes impatients de decouvrir ce nouveau salon.

  3. Great site this frogandprincess.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  4. nice site this frogandprincess.wordpress.com great to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  5. formidable site this frogandprincess.wordpress.com rated to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

